An old email about Michael Jackson

I feel like I need to post something related to yesterday’s news about Michael Jackson. Instead, I have copied and pasted below an email I sent to some friends back on March 10, 2008:

As many of you know, I had the red leather jacket and the sequined glove when I was about 4 years old.  Don’t bother getting the remixes on the 25th anniversary release…many of them are pathetic compared to the original.  But if you don’t already own Thriller (I had the record, yeah, the one that folded out to show the full picture of Michael and the tiger), the 25th anniversary is your chance to redeem yourself.  As I have said to some of you, I don’t believe the world has seen a star the size of Michael Jackson since the 80’s.  We had Elvis and The Beatles and Michael…but show me another musician that makes people in the US, Eastern Europe, Russia, the Middle East and Asia pass out at their live shows or inspire people to wear such ridiculous clothing as I have described above.  NKOTB?  N’SYNC or the Backstreet Boys?  Well, I wasn’t dressing like them.  U2?  Probably the closest thing we have…

Anyway, check out the article and the links…it’s pretty funny:

NY Times Article

On the tube:

Chinatown:

Bus stop:

And my favorite…at the Tesco:

This one is funny because it’s a bunch of people who can barely dance trying to do a response to the above videos:

If you haven’t seen the first display of the moonwalk in a while, go back and watch this…I was at my grandparents watching this live and remember how we were all just so confused by what he just did:

And here is the Philippino jail dance they reference in the article, just in case you are one of the few people on the internet who hasn’t seen this yet:

And just for fun:

One response to “An old email about Michael Jackson

  1. Great post about the greatest pop icon of our time.

Leave a Reply

