David Byrne at Wolf Trap’s Filene Center

View from our seats

View from our seats

Yesterday began my week of concerts. Tonight is The Hold Steady at 9:30 Club, Wednesday is Indigo Girls back at the Filene Center and then Thursday is Jenny Lewis back at 9:30 Club. Quite the schedule and I am quite excited about it. No better way to kick it off than with box seats for David Byrne (of Talking Heads fame – see my January 21, 2007 blog entry) at the Filene Center.

I saw Byrne last November at the Warner Theatre in DC touring in support of his new album with Brian Eno titled Everything That Happens Will Happen Today. I must say that I am usually skeptical of new solo work coming from members of bands with huge success in the 80’s. Everything That Happens… is a large exception to the rule. I highly recommend it! For more detail, refer to my “Top 5 of 2008” blog entry.

I had never been to the Filene Center before, but I must say it’s an excellent place to see a show. The lawn area even gives a great view and allows visitors to bring in picnic baskets and even glass bottles (alcohol!). It is situated in a national park and the venue blends in very well with the surroundings.

View of upper level inside Filene Center

View of upper level inside Filene Center

David Byrne’s show was entertaining as usual – with plenty of crazy backing dancers and the band in all white. Arm chopping happened during “Once In A Lifetime,” as it should. I have a few additional pictures posted in my web gallery and additional video on my YouTube channel.

I had my Flip Video camera with me, however I was busted after about 5 songs, so I don’t have some of his big hits on video. I guess it took them 5 songs to realize it wasn’t a still camera. What I did capture was a bit of my favorite tune from Everything That Happens Will Happen Today titled “One Fine Day.” The lighting and location wasn’t perfect for video anyway, but you get a sense of his stage show at least. And of course I always recommend checking out some old Talking Heads / David Byrne stuff that can be found on YouTube – it’s fascinating.

The full setlist includes:

  1. Strange Overtones
  2. I Zimbra
  3. One Fine Day
  4. Help Me Somebody
  5. Houses In Motion
  6. My Big Nurse
  7. My Big Hands (Fall Through The Cracks)
  8. Heaven
  9. Moonlight in Glory
  10. Life Is Long
  11. Corsseyed And Painless
  12. Born Under Punches (The Heat Goes On)
  13. Once In A Lifetime
  14. Life During Wartime
  15. I Feel My Stuff

Encore 1

  1. Take Me To The River
  2. The Great Curve

Encore 2

  1. Air
  2. Burning Down The House

And yes, Encore 3

  1. Everything That Happens Will Happen Today

2 responses to “David Byrne at Wolf Trap’s Filene Center

  1. #9 is “Moonlight in Glory” from “My Life in the Bush of Ghosts.”

Leave a Reply

