Music for skating

from all skates to moonlights

picture-6As I mentioned, Ivan’s email the other day made me do some searching for some old R&B/Rap. That, in addition to the recent topic of roller-skating led me to these songs below. There is no particular order, but it seems to flow from R&B to some ballads for the moonlights, then to some “electro funk” and rap.

I must say, some of these songs are definitely guilty pleasures now, but you have to admit, they are freaking good songs! Okay, well “Somebody’s Watching Me” is only good because of the Michael Jackson chorus. But I can hardly listen to “Rhythm of the Night” or “Let’s Hear It For The Boy” without wanting to dance.  And Shalamar…I just like saying the name…and thinking about how Micki Free is not a girl…[I stopped here to put in the Chappelle’s Show DVD]

Most of these songs I have had for a long time, but the ones leading up to and including the Footloose Soundtrack were downloaded in that post happy hour time on Thursday night. After that, we have some serious skating songs.  If you aren’t already aware, “Supersonic” is the song that Fergie recently ripped off to make “Fergalicious.”

Speaking of Fergie, did anyone else watch Kids Incorporated back in the 80’s / early 90’s? I loved that show. Fergie was on it along with Jennifer Love Hewitt, Martika (“Toy Soldiers”), and Mario Lopez as a dancer, among others.  Basically it was kids singing popular songs of the time while other kids pretended to play drums and the keytar in the background.  It was terrible. I could only watch it when I visited my grandparents because they had one of those huge satellite dishes, which means they had pirated Disney Channel. Check out the videos:

“Let’s Hear It For The Boy” – Fergie singing with Martika and Renee, who was a member of Wild Orchid, Fergie’s pre-BEP group.

“Locomotion” – I actually hate this song, but you see a more grown up Fergie along with “Love Hewitt” as she was credited back then.  Isn’t it crazy that this was Kylie Minogue way back when? Check the keytar!

Sorry for the distraction. Anyway, here they are.  “You Got It All” and “Almost Paradise” may be two of the most popular moonlight songs at Romar (again, the Germantown skating rink) back when I went.  Debbie Deb was a staple for the snowball, and “Word Up” was a popular song to open the night with.  It’s amazing what I remember from there, but hey, one of my friends married the DJ (a few years later), so we had musical influence.

  • Rock Steady by The Whispers
  • Somebody’s Watching Me by Rockwell
  • Rhythm of the Night by DeBarge
  • Crush on You by The Jets
  • You Got It All by The Jets
  • Oh Sheila by Ready for the World
  • Almost Paradise by Ann Wilson & Mike Reno
  • Holding On For A Hero by Bonnie Tyler
  • Let’s Hear It For The Boy by Deniece Williams
  • Footloose by Kenny Loggins
  • Dancing In The Sheets by Shalamar
  • Supersonic by JJ Fad
  • It Takes Two by Rob Base and DJ EZ Rock
  • Lookout Weekend by Debbie Deb
  • When I Hear Music by Debbie Deb
  • Word Up by Cameo
  • Don’t Stop The Rock by Freestyle
  • Atomic Dog by George Clinton
  • Jam On It by Newcleus
  • Ditty by Paperboy
  • Push It by Salt ‘N Pepa
  • Five Minutes of Funk by Whodini
  • Freaks Come Out At Night by Whodini
  • Rapper’s Delight by Sugarhill Gang

And for those of you who have made it this far, this is the closest picture I could find to what my skates actually look like. Unfortunately I don’t have a picture of Romar, so the skating rink picture at the top was ripped off the web. The boot is the same Riedell 395 (I also had a 595 boot, but that was early middle school) and it looks like they haven’t changed much in 15 years. They were so cool – I still have them somewhere in Ohio, so if anyone wants to go skating the next time I am there, let me know – they might still fit! I didn’t have pink wheels.
picture-7

Leave a Reply

